Ontario: Decent Work Organizing Meeting

Tuesday, August 24, 2021
7:00PM - 9:00PM
More details and RSVP form below

This meeting will be held online using Zoom and there will be ASL and live captions in English provided.

Justice for Workers and the Ontario Federation of Labour are co-hosting online decent work organizing meetings. Thanks to all the local organizing, there is growing momentum for safe and healthy workplaces for all. From paid sick days to migrant justice, and from decent wages to safe schools, your actions are making a difference!

The next meeting is Tuesday, August 24, 2021, from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm. 

We will be getting updates and analysis from:

  • Courtney Skye, a research fellow at Yellowhead Institute, a First Nations-led policy think tank at X University (a.k.a. this). Courtney is Mohawk, Turtle Clan, from Six Nations of the Grand River Territory. She will be speaking on the developments with 1492 Landback Lane and the upcoming federal election.
  • Sarom Rho, Migrant student organizer, with Migrant Workers' Alliance for Change. Sarom will be giving us the update on migrant worker organizing across the country as well as in Ontario.
  • Jennifer Scott, President of Gig Workers United. Jennifer will be discussing how gig workers are organizing to protect themselves and others and why every worker has a role to play in making sure gig workers get the protections they need. 
  • Pamela Charron, Organizer with the Worker Solidarity Network. Pamela will share an update on the fight for paid sick days in British Columbia.
  • Denise Martins, Coordinator of the Decent Work and Health Network. Denise will provide federal and Ontario context for the fight for permanent paid sick days for everyone. 


Hailey McCron Peter Hogarth David Bush Mina Rajabi Paak Sarah Shahid Faiz Ahmed Sue Parker Yvette LeClair Sarom Rho Tom Fraser JaMario Zackary Sally Jin Niki Najm-Abadi Deena Ladd Ezra de Leon Beixi Liu Steve Mantis Martha Burbano jesse mclaren Tim Heffernan Wayne Virgo Mariam Agra Nicole Abbott David Harris Elise Lee Lai Bruce Allen Loretta Fisher Janet Duckworth Ella Bedard Valerie Lannon Simon Stephen Tracey MacKinnon Ani Chénier Mohammed Haque Juana Douglas Tt Scott Nick Marchese Kyle Hoskin Caroline Horton Matthew Higginson Eli Newman Hayley Rochwerg Christine Ilott Salwa Zahra Tim Maxwell Debbie Naipaul Mabel Arellano Kristie Little

Will you come?


Sign-up to receive updates with resources, tools, trainings, and local events.